How I would book SummerSlam (part 1) 

You may (or may not) remember that earlier this year I did a couple of posts where I wrote how I would have booked Wrestlemania 33. Now I’ve decided to fantasy book WWE’s second biggest event of the year – SummerSlam – which will be held in Brooklyn New York on August 20th. 

First of all this is how I would book SummerSlam. It will probably have little or no resemblance whatsoever to what WWE actually produces on August 20th. I should say that I’ve seen so many rumors about this event that I think either WWE is deliberately leaking rumours to throw fans off the scent or chairman Vince McMahon does not have a clue what he is doing (both are perfectly believable). For example I have seen rumours that men’s Money In the Bank winner Baron Corbin will cash in on Universal Champion Brock Lesnar although Corbin is on Smackdown and Lesnar on RAW. But I’ve also seen rumours that Corbin will lose the Money in the Bank briefcase. I don’t believe either will happen.

Like with Wrestlemania I’ll list the card I would book in this post and in my next post I will explain why I booked the matches and who I would have winning. 

One note. Sheamus and Randy Orton are not on my card as I have read they are taking a break from the WWE and for the purpose of this post I have assumed they will not be available for SummerSlam. Also as WWE had twelve matches (including the pre show) at last year’s SummerSlam that is the number I have decided to book.

Here is the card I would book : 

WWE Universal Championship – Brock Lesnar (c) v Roman Reigns v Braun Strowman.

WWE Championship – Jinder Mahal (c) v John Cena

Intercontinental Championship – The Miz (c) v Seth Rollins v Bray Wyatt

United States Championship – Kevin Owens (c) v Shinsuke Nakamura

RAW Tag Team Championship – The Hardys (c) v The Miztourage (Curtis Axel and Bo Dallas)

Smackdown Tag Team Championship – The New Day (c) v The Usos

RAW Women’s Championship – Alexa Bliss (c) v Nia Jax v Sasha Banks 

Smackdown Women’s Championship – Naomi (c) v Becky Lynch 

Dean Ambrose v Samoa Joe

Finn Balor v Cesaro

AJ Styles v Rusev

Sami Zayn v Mike Kanellis 

(c) = the Champion(s) I would have going into SummerSlam. 

One point : Eagle eyed readers will notice that both of the Money in the Bank winners Baron Corbin and Carmella are not on the card. I will explain what happens to them in my next post as well as why I booked this card and who should win.

WWE do it better…..

Leave a Reply

